A Guide to Trash in bConnected Collaboration Services

February 29, 2016

Let’s talk trash. Trash is your friend. It helps you purge and stay organized. It also helps you recover files, folders, or emails that you’ve purposefully or accidentally deleted. The way trash gets removed varies depending on which Collaboration Service you are using. Here’s the lowdown:

bMail

It’s easy to move email to the Trash by clicking on the trash icon. Messages stay in the Trash folder for 30 days, before they are automatically deleted. If you change your mind and want to retrieve a message, you must do so within 30 days. If you want to prevent the message from being deleted, you can choose to archive instead of trashing it.

Time in trash: 30 days before automatic deletion

Read detailed information about bMail Trash

bDrive

You can remove files from Drive by clicking the trash icon. Files will remain in your Trash folder until you empty your trash because there is no automatic deletion in Drive. Note: if you're the owner of a shared file, others can view it until you permanently delete the file. If you're not the owner, others can see the file even if you empty your trash.

Time in trash: Indefinitely until you permanently delete the file

Read detailed information on Google Drive Trash

bCal
If you’ve moved a calendar event to the trash, Google offers the ability to retrieve deleted events. Any event you created or have edit access to will remain in the trash for 30 days with the ability to restore events, or delete them forever.

Time in trash: 30 days before automatic deletion

Read detailed information about Google Calendar Trash

Box

You can remove files from Box by clicking the trash icon. Files will remain in your Trash folder until you empty your trash because automatic deletion has not been enabled. Note: if you're the owner of a shared file, others can view it until you permanently delete the file. If you're not the owner, others can see the file even if you empty your trash.

Time in trash: Indefinitely until you permanently delete the file

Read detailed information on Box Trash